How many layers…

… of wood would a wood chuck chuck (out of the house) if a wood chuck remodeled a house?
First board of the top layer of wood.

First board of the top layer of wood.  

Half the living room. Lucky for me, this layer of wood was added AFTER the walls. The original layer of wood is UNDER the walls so I guess I'll be taking out some walls soon too.

Half the living room. Lucky for me, this layer of wood was added AFTER the walls. The original layer of wood is UNDER the walls so I guess I’ll be taking out some walls soon too.

I LOVE having two different hammers for this project. One has a straighter claw and the other is much more curved. It gives me different leverage and they fit into tight spaces differently. And having two hammers lets me get one under each side of the board and work my way along it easily. The drill makes taking out the screws (LOTS of screws in some places) a lot faster then ripping the boards out would be. It's a bit of a hunt and find game and I've gotten quite good at telling the difference between a stubborn nail and a screw based on how the hammers feel! Woot!

I LOVE having two different hammers for this project. One has a straighter claw and the other is much more curved. It gives me different leverage and they fit into tight spaces differently. And having two hammers lets me get one under each side of the board and work my way along it easily. The drill makes taking out the screws (LOTS of screws in some places) a lot faster then ripping the boards out would be. It’s a bit of a hunt and find game and I’ve gotten quite good at telling the difference between a stubborn nail and a screw based on how the hammers feel! Woot!

Almost the entire living room is done. It's almost time to move the wood stove, the propane heat stove and get to work on the bedroom too.

Almost the entire living room is done. It’s almost time to move the wood stove, the propane heat stove and get to work on the bedroom too.

Floor removal 15 - Most of first layer of wood gone

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

